To Every Season, Change Change Change

Earlier this year, my husband and I decided to move our four kids halfway across the country…for reasons too numerous to list here. But mostly because we wanted to live near family.

map.jpg

The week after we moved into our new house (which happens to be my childhood home…an awesome story for a different day), the session of my Leadership Journey happened to be on understanding and embracing change. Sometimes I just love how life works out.

It literally could not have come at a more perfect time because I was neck-deep in major changes in my life.

I am a person who loves change. I like to rearrange my furniture. I like to dye my hair. I like to move. But this relocation was harder on me than any major change had ever been. And I am no stranger to change.

Of course, the main reason was the difficulty in leaving behind friends that I treasure. Relationships will always be the most important part of my life, and I hate moving away from friends who are family. I was also sad to leave the home where my family had so many memories.

Which is why I was so grateful to learn how to better embrace change…right in the middle of a huge change.

The thing that most helped me was to realize change is very similar to grief. This made total sense to me because I truly was grieving the loss of so much. Obviously, friends are only a phone call and plane ride away. No one actually died. And people are what makes a house a home.

And yet, I still felt grief. Our move happened pretty quickly and was quite unexpected. So it took me a bit to wrap my mind around the whole idea. I had to let go of my life in Florida and embrace my new life in Missouri…in a new house with new friends. And on a deeper level, a whole new life trajectory.

Raising my kids in the Midwest is much different than in South Florida. Plus, my kids are old enough to understand moving. Being around family is a [welcomed] change after having not lived by them in nearly two decades. And the path life would take me on is changed because of this one major life change.

So it helped me so much to understand that it takes time to process change. And it helped me even more to remember that even the biggest changes eventually become life as normal.

Sure enough, we’ve lived in Missouri for nearly three months. And we are settling in quite well. I still miss my friends dearly, of course. But life is good.

Change is a necessary part of life. Understanding and embracing change is helpful to making it a little more palpable.

I am curious to know how you feel about change. Do you love it? Hate it? Embrace it?

____________________________________________

A few weeks ago, I graduated from my PeopleTek Leadership Journey. This has been the best thing I’ve done in a long time. If you manage people in your career, I cannot recommend this course enough. I promise you will be a better manager, and you will better serve your team. I thought I had a pretty good understanding of myself before I took this course, but I learned so much more about myself (and other people) than I ever thought possible. Definitely let me know if you are interested, and I can get you in touch with the right person to start your Journey.

 

 

Leave a Reply

